Family and Relationship Ergo Baby Carrier Review | Sale/Buy in Penang/Malaysia?

Comments

Login



 
Ergo Baby Carrier Review | Sale/Buy in Penang/Malaysia?
Written by Shirley T   
Tuesday, 21 June 2011 00:00

One of the most beautiful memories in my motherhood journey is learning about babywearing. This term was an alien before the arrival of my little one but today, it is part of my souls.
Ergo (Camel) baby carrier with sucking pads
Babywearing or in the lay person term is an act of holding/carrying baby using a carrier, be it a fabric, wrap, pouch or even soft structured carrier. Baby naturally loves to be held, so babywearing complements our tender loving care towards them. Babywearing is not something new, it has been practised for centuries (or longer perhaps). As the queen of the castle, mothers in the bygone days were designated to take care of children and households at the same time. As such, babywearing came handy for them to perform daily tasks. Back then, fabric was used, slinging over the shoulder, creating a pouch where little one could stay close to their momma.


Today, we have the luxurious of choice. Aside from the enormous benefits gained from babywearing, these carriers are readily available commercially.

I started with a wrap when my baby was about a month old. The wrap provides  the soft, bodily warmth and conducive environment to my tiny one. It was as if it is a womb out of my body. My son loved it. The challenge with wrap is putting it on is a hassle. It takes practice to master it. As my boy gains weight, we also found out the fabric seems to sag. Asides from these challenges, we were happy to get the wrap as it served us well when we needed it the most.

After my boy turned 6 month-old, we reviewed parental advice, sought opinions from babywearers and we found Ergo baby carrier is the best for us. Mother's intuition seldom fools me and true enough, we are very happy with Ergo. It is light, comfortable, easy to put on and most important of all, it is ergonomics to both, the child and the wearer.

Ergo that is designed with wide padded waist and shoulder straps, obviously provides a comfortable and balanced hold. Only two buckles to snap which means anybody can babywear in less than a couple minutes and then enjoy two free hands. The front pocket is useful to keep valuable/baby stuff. We also love the hood attached, it comes handy to cover my boy from poking sunlight, noise, dust or air pollutants. It is a brilliant design ergonomically!
Ergo

If you are Penang islanders and wish to seek for face-to-face tips, have a demo, interested to try before purchase, please email me at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it and share with me the color/design (refer to above images i.e. A,B,C,D,E, F) of your choice.

For non Penangites, you are also welcome to write in. I am more than happy to share my experience with you virtually and help as much as I can.

IMPORTANT Notice:
For baby that ages less than four months old, you are advised to have an ERGObaby Infant Insert in order to safely carry your baby in the Ergo baby carrier.

 

 

 


Did not find what you are looking for? Do a search...
(Type what you are looking for in the textbox below)


Trackback(0)
Comments (34)add comment
...
written by Lin , October 24, 2011

Hi, just wanted to find out does your baby feel hot inside the carrier? I have friends who commented that it is very hot inside while other friends who say they don't feel it is hot.
report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +1

...
written by Shirley T , October 25, 2011

Hi Lin, Thanks for visiting. From my experience of more than 6 mo, putting on almost everyday, I guess the most extreme was warm, never hot smilies/cheesy.gif We do lots of outdoor activities with it e.g. hiking but so far, my baby and I are happy with it. The design also allows ample chance for ventilation. Hope this helps smilies/smiley.gif
report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by hana , April 21, 2012

hi.i'm searching for the best baby carrier..wat's the diffrent between ergo and bjorn?do u have any review from bjorn users?tq
report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: -1

...
written by Shirley T , April 23, 2012

Hi hana, The design (includes whether it is ergonomic), material, carrying style, cost and color - these are some of the differences that I could think of. Sorry that I do not have any review in detail between these two. Do feel free to share if you found one. Thanks smilies/smiley.gif
report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by christine , June 21, 2012

Hi Shirley,

Do you know where I can buy Ergo in Pg? My baby is now 7months old and weighs 9.4kg. He's a bit heavy for me to carry around now. Thanks

report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Shirley T , June 27, 2012

christine, Please find my answer in your email. Hope it helps smilies/smiley.gif
report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by andy , July 27, 2012

hi how bout kl? go you know where got sell?
report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Shirley , July 30, 2012

Hi andy, Try Tiny Tapir Baby Shop at Bangsar Jalan Telawi or Ampang Park Shopping Center. Hope this helps smilies/smiley.gif
report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +1

...
written by falina , August 23, 2012

hi. would like to know the difference between ergo original and ergo performance. is the material different? also if the fit (measurements) also differ? which do you recommend for msian weather? tq
report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Joy , August 28, 2012

Hi, same here. I am also in Penang. May I know where to get ergo carriers?
Thanks lots!

report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Shirley T , August 29, 2012

Hi falina,
The key differences:
Ergo Original - 100% Cotton canvas. Ergo Performance - Material is a mixed of cotton and synthetic, thus made it 1/3 lighter than Ergo Original.

Both can fit Asians because the straps are pretty standard and adjustable.

And of course, the colors and price are difference between these two with Ergo Performance costs slightly more than the Original.

If you're going for heavy duty in outdoor, I'd suggest for Ergo Performance though there are folks using the Original for hiking in the tropics! Both are machine-washable.

Hope this helps.

report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Shirley T , August 29, 2012

Hi Joy,
So far, I have never came across any baby stores in Penang that carry this product. If you're interested to purchase online, please contact me. Thanks.

report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Hui , September 03, 2012

Hi Shirley,

I would like to bring my 2 years old for hiking in Penang, what's your opinion between ergo baby and others baby back carrier with aluminium frames? I used to use baby bjorn but even before she outgrow the weight limit, I noticed that her leg turn bluish sometimes due to the strap around her leg and have since quit using it.

May you send me some details on how to purchase this online as well? Thanks!

report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Shirley , September 12, 2012

Hui,
With the option of a framed carrier or an Ergo to bring a 2 year old for a hike, I would be keen to try the framed carrier, being adventurous to experiment smilies/smiley.gif

That's said, I will consider other factors e.g. distance, duration, terrain condition besides the child's behavioral/emotional needs and wearer's fitness as well.

The bottom line for me is safety, comfort and fun to both parties. Hope that I don't get you more confused smilies/smiley.gif. Have fun!!

report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Farah Merican , October 18, 2012

Hi, I've been looking everywhere to buy the ergo baby organic - lattice. Tiny Tapir does not have much choice and they've ran out of the ergo organic. Can I purchase from you or do you know anywhere else that I can buy it?
report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Shirley , October 21, 2012

Hi Farah Merican, Ergo organic is perhaps more popular in Singapore. You can try your luck there otherwise direct from Amazon smilies/smiley.gif Hope this helps.
report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Soo Ming , November 04, 2012

hi are you still carrying the ergobaby original? I see this post is quite some times ago. I am trying to look for one but i can't find it anywhere in Penang.
report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Shirley T , November 06, 2012

Soo Ming, You may want to try sourcing from KL or Singapore. All the best!
report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Weiling , December 31, 2012

Hi I am in Penang, can you tell me where I can buy ergo baby products? I read online and seems like many fake ones out there.......
report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Shirley , January 02, 2013

Hi Weiling,
Being a mother, I have a similar concern of counterfeits when quality especially safety is compromised. To spot a counterfeit Ergo, I'd suggest you to search online using this phrase or alike e.g. How to spot fake/counterfeit Ergo baby carrier? Look for the latest posts because the counterfeit makers are getting better as time goes. Avoid huge discount/bargain sale especially in E-bay. When the price is too low, it is too good to be true smilies/smiley.gif

Some tips to look for in order to avoid purchasing a counterfeit Ergo babycarrier:
1. Take a look at the product, the original product has a fine workmanship.
2. Original Ergo is stitched with safety label i.e. Warning - Fall Hazard in both English and Spanish.
3. Real - the waist buckle has a word 'Stealth'. Some fakes have as well.
4. For real, the box comes with a handbook (NOT a CD - that's usually the fake ones), and a product recall detail/card (if it was shipped from US/Canada).
5. Real comes with zipper pull that has Ergo logo molded on.

Hope this helps.

I doubt there is any shop in Penang that is selling Ergo. If you're keen to take a look on my Ergo, do let me know.

report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Annie , January 07, 2013

i m fr kuching, sarawak. can i buy ergo from you?
report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Shirley , January 09, 2013

Hi Annie, Thanks for dropping by. I had replied you with details via email.
report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Trina Khaw , February 14, 2013

I plan to get one baby carrier for my mum. She is taking care of my 20 months old daughter. My daughter always like her grandma to carry her but my mum could not carry her for too long as will feel pain around her arms. So I am not sure whether the one you suggested is suitable for my mum's condition. I am from Penang and if this brand suits my mum's condition, it would be great if I can try it before purchasing it.

Please advise. Thx. smilies/smiley.gif

report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Monchichi Mum , February 26, 2013

Hi there
Im a Mum to a 19 month old toddler. I tend to travel on my own when it comes to balik kampung ..unfortunately she has grown out of her Baby Bjorn - that costs so much..ive been searching Ergo and found your blog through the google search engine. Did you use your baby carrier till toddlerhood? Would love to know your advise and opinion about it? I tried using those sling carriers ..not so easy really.

report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Wendy , March 03, 2013

May I know where can I buy in SG?
report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Shirley , March 08, 2013

Hi Trina,
If I have a choice, I guess I'd not buy for my mom. Personally, I do not recommend for an elderly because I believe the baby carrier is designed for parents and not grandparents smilies/smiley.gif. You're always welcome to try though.

Hi Monchichi Mum,
Same here, I am pretty much on my own when it comes to outing/traveling at times. And I am glad that Ergo is still our best friend. My LO is around 11-12 kg now, 85cm still fit in the carrier comfortably. If you're to invest from baby stage, I guess it is a worth buy smilies/smiley.gif

Hi Wendy,
I bet you can find it at the baby stores, those of pop & mom kinds. Perhaps you can search online as well. I hope you'd find one soon smilies/smiley.gif

report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by liza , March 16, 2013

Hi, im interested to purchase egro carrier. where can i buy it in penang?
report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by SHIRLEY , August 27, 2013

Hi, notice that most of the baby carrier available in market are totally closed to parent body while carried the baby. I would like to look for baby carrier which have some gap within the carrier and the baby, so that baby body won't get wet, if the parent sweating.
Can you recommend one for me?

report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Shirley T , August 28, 2013

Hi SHIRLEY, I guess you're looking for framed backpack carriers. Pluck this term in the search bar and google it, I bet you'll find what you like very soon. Good Luck smilies/smiley.gif
report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Asma , September 22, 2013

Hello, Shirley. I'm from Kuching, Sarawak. Where can I buy ergo carrier in Kuching? or can I buy it from you?
report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Serene , November 14, 2013

Hi there
wanna seek for your advice comparing to Boba and Ergo
which one is better?
I am looking for a carrier for my 1mo baby as we do travel a lots.

report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Isabel , November 14, 2013

Hello, Shirley. I'm from Kuching, Sarawak. Are u selling the authentic ergo carrier?can I buy it from you?
report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Shirley T , November 17, 2013

Hi Serene,
I'd never used Boba hence I can't comment much. From images, Boba looks like the close sibling of Ergo. I'd advice you to research and read the reviews for both, if possible try on with your baby, then you're good to pick the best for both smilies/smiley.gif.

Hi Isabel, Sorry that I don't have any stock right now. For more options, you may check out in KL/Singapore. Hope you'll find one soon smilies/smiley.gif

report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0

...
written by Freeden , February 27, 2014

Hi,I am interest purchase ergo carrier . Where can I buy ergo carried in Penang? Pls advice asap . Thanks.
report abuse
vote down
vote up

Votes: +0


Write comment
smaller | bigger
 

busy